Celebrating the 20th Anniversary of Designation of Murray Hill on the National Register of Historic Places

The Preservation & Design Committee hosted a dedication ceremony on Tuesday, April 23, 2024 which marked the 20th anniversary of Murray Hill’s designation on the National Register of Historic Places!

The celebration extended from Madison Avenue to Third Avenue, between 34th and 39th Streets and showcased 88 historic and architecturally significant structures. To commemorate this milestone, banners highlighting historic architectural details adorn light poles, and activities such as walking tours, lectures, and the 2024 Park Avenue Day street festival.

Since 2013, an additional 151 structures have been added to the National Register, bringing the total to 239 significant sites in Murray Hill, including the Historic District and Sniffen Court Historic District. The area is notable for its diverse architectural styles including Beaux Arts, Georgian, Romanesque Revival, and Empire, designed by eminent architects like McKim, Mead & White, C.P.H. Gilbert, Hoppin & Koen, William Adams Delano, and Horace Trumbauer. This residential enclave originally settled in the 1750s by Robert Murray and Mary Lindley Murray, features a rich historical tapestry, also honoring the Lenape, the area’s ancestral and spiritual inhabitants. We acknowledge and celebrate their history and culture alongside our own, in this landmark year.

Leave A Comment

Your Comment
All comments are held for moderation.